IND vs SL 1st T20I Highlights #cricket #sports


IND vs SL 1st T20I Highlights
Image Source: Twitter

Article top

For more Cricket News and Updates Join our Telegram Channel

IND vs SL 1st T20I Highlights

ndia started their new year’s campaign with a nail-biting win over Sri Lanka at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Tuesday.

The high-voltage game saw both teams gave their full commitment, but at the end the game was ended in India’s favour.

Dasun Shanaka, who scored maximum runs for his side, and Chamika Karunaratne tried hard, but didn’t manage to hand their side a victory.

Earlier, powerful blows from Deepak Hooda (41*) and Axar Patel (31*) against Sri Lanka helped Team India reach 162/5 in 20 overs.

Apart from them, Ishan Kishan smashed 37 runs, and skipper Hardik Pandya struck 29 runs

IND vs SL 1st T20I highlights

Invited to bat, India started their first match of the year’s campaign on a high note with 26 on board in the first two.

But, Maheesh Theekshana didn’t allow the Indian batters to further hit quick runs as he removed Shubman Gill in the third over of the innings.

India then faced another shock when Suryakumar Yadav, the no.1 batter in ICC T20I rankings, walked back to pavilion after scoring just 7 runs.

Sanju Samson once again failed to make a mark. Ishan Kishan and Hardik Pandya then tried to steady India’s ship and added 31 runs for the fourth wicket before Wanindu Hasaranga dismissed Ishan Kishan for 37.

Hardik Pandya also left the crease after playing a knock of 29.

India were way behind in the game with just 94 on board and lost their half side, but Deepak Hooda and Axar Patel changed the complete scenario with their powerful shots and collected 68 runs off the final 35 balls to help Inida post 162 for 5 on board in 20 overs.

Hooda, struck 4 sixes and a four in his unbeaten 41 off 23 knock, while Axar Patel recorded 31* off 20.

For Sri Lanka, Dilshan Madushanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dhananjaya de Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, and Chamika Karunaratne, all took one wicket each.

IND vs SL highlights: Sri Lanka to chase 163 in 20 overs 

Chasing a target of 163, Sri Lanka faced a dreary start as they lost their two wickets early. The debutant Shivam Mavi provided India first two breakthroughs.

Sri Lanka kept on chasing the target in a slow pace, but dismissals in between hurting their chances to claim to start their year with a win.

Harshal Patel dismissed two of Sri Lanka’s most dangerous batters, Kusal Mendis and Bhanuka Rajapaksa, during the ninth and eleventh over of the innings.

The visitors still needed 95 off the final 56 balls, with skipper of Sri Lanka and all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga were there at the crease.

They both added quick 40 off 23 balls before Mavi came back into the attack and dismissed Hasaranga this time.

Dasun Shanaka, the last hope for Sri Lanka, tried his best to hand his side a victory, but Malik didn’t let that happen and removed him for 45.

Mavi ended his spell with 4-22-4 and became the third Indian to pick four-wicket haul on debut.

The match, however, last to the final over with the visitors needed 13 off the last 6.

Hardik Pandya handed the ball to Axar Patel, he bowled the first ball wide, a single came off the then, with Karunaratne on strike, and he missed the second ball, but struck a big six to put the equation into a manageable manner of 5 from the final 3. But the clever bowler saved the game for India as he only leaked just 2 runs and the hosts won the game by 2 runs.

The speedster Umran Malik also impressed with his quick balls, he clocked near 155kmph during his 4-over spell, in which he gave 27 runs and bagged 2 wickets.

Harshal Patel also took 2 wickets for India.

IND vs SL T20I series

Shubman Gill, a batsman, and Shivam Mavi, a bowler who took Arshdeep Singh’s place in the playing XI, both received their first T20I caps.

All-rounder Hardik Pandya is leading Team India in the absence of Rohit Sharma in the T20 International series versus Sri Lanka. Virat Kohli and KL Rahul, also be remain absent from the three-match series in addition to Rohit.

The second match of the series will be played at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune on January 05.

Matched Content Ad

#IND #1st #T20I #Highlights