ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 Fixtures, Teams, Venues #cricket #sports


ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup 2023
Image Source: Twitter

Article top

The ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 is a first of its kind in world cricket and will take place from 14th – 29th January 2023.

For more Cricket News and Updates Join our Telegram Channel

ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup 2023: This Tournament will see the future stars of the women’s game compete in 41 matches. It will be played across four venues in Benoni and Potchefstroom in 16 days of competitive cricket.

The 16 teams in the fray include Indonesia and Rwanda, who will feature in an ICC World Cup for the first time ever.

Eleven full member nations gained automatic entry in this historic edition: Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, and New Zealand. Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, the West Indies, and Zimbabwe.

Scotland, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and the United States of America (USA) join Indonesia and Rwanda to take the remaining five slots, representing each of the ICC’s five regions giving fans the opportunity to watch tomorrow’s superstars today.

The nations will be divided into groups of four as follows:

  • A: Australia, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and the USA
  • B: England, Pakistan, Rwanda and Zimbabwe
  • C: Indonesia, Ireland, New Zealand and the West Indies
  • D: India, Scotland, South Africa and the UAE

Entry to all the fixtures will be free of charge. The semi-finals and final will take place at JB Marks Oval in Potchefstroom on 29 January, followed by the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Cape Town, Paarl and Gqeberha which begins on 10 February 2022. The two events will play an important role in leaving a lasting legacy to grow girls and women participation in South Africa.

Tournament Director Sivuyile Mqingwana said:

“This is a watershed moment for women’s cricket in South Africa and for the game in our country. To host one ICC event in a year is cause for great celebration. But to claim two in such quick succession is beyond our wildest dreams.

“We are excited to promote the women’s game in our region and look forward to hosting yet another world-class event on our shores. Today’s launch just added to the festive mood and excitement that has been growing in our organisation as we count down to the first match of this historic occasion on 14 January.”

ICC Head of Events, Chris Tetley said: “We are delighted to launch the first ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa. The women’s game is a strategic priority for the ICC. And we look forward to the showcasing of our sport’s future stars in the region of Africa, where cricket continues to grow in popularity.

“With the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup following quickly on the heels of this historic tournament. We eagerly anticipate the delivery of two key events that will play a vital role in the promotion of women’s cricket around the world. In this important time in the growth of our game around the world.”

Squads for ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup 2023

Ireland – Amy Hunter – captain (Instonians/Malahide), Siúin Wood – vice captain (YMCA), Zara Craig (Eglinton), Georgina Dempsey (YMCA). Rebecca Gough (The Hills). Abbi Harrison (Waringstown). Jennifer Jackson (Eglinton), Joanna Loughran (Leinster), Niamh MacNulty (Merrion), Aimee Maguire (The Hills). Kia McCartney (Coleraine), Ellie McGee (Rush), Julie McNally (Clontarf). Freya Sargent (Clontarf), Annabel Squires (Merrion)

USA – Geetika Kodali (Captain), Anika Kolan (WK) (Vice Captain), Aditi Chudasama, Bhumika Bhadriraju, Disha Dhingra, Isani Vaghela, Jivana Aras, Laasya Mullapudi. Pooja Ganesh (WK). Pooja Shah, Ritu Singh. Sai Tanmayi Eyyunni, Snigdha Paul, Suhani Thadani, Taranum Chopra – Reserves – Chetnaa Prasad, Kasturi Vedantham, Lisa Ramjit, Mitali Patwardhan, Tya Gonsalves

Australia – Chloe Ainsworth , Jade Allen , Charis Bekker , Paris Bowdler, Maggie Clark , Sianna Ginger, Lucy Hamilton. Ella Hayward , Milly Illingworth , Eleanor Larosa , Rhys McKenna. Claire Moore , Kate Pelle , Amy Smith , Ella Wilson

Scotland – Katherine Fraser (c) – Stewart’s Melville, Ailsa Lister (vc)(wk) – Northern Lights / Stoneywood Dyce, Molly Barbour-Smith – Gunnersbury Women. Olivia Bell – Stockport Georgians. Darcey Carter – Hayes and Whitstable, Maryam Faisal – Clydesdale / West of Scotland, Maisie Maceira – Carlton / Gala. Orla Montgomery – Dumfries, Niamh Muir – Dumfries / St Michael’s, Molly Paton – Stewart’s Melville, Niamh Robertson-Jack – Grange. Nayma Sheikh – West of Scotland / East Kilbride, Anne Sturgess – West of Scotland / Clydesdale. Emily Tucker – Watsonians, Emma Walsingham – Stewart’s Melville

India: Shafali Verma (Captain), Shweta Sehrawat (Vice-Captain), Richa Ghosh (WK), G Trisha, Soumya Tiwari, Sonia Mehdiya, Hurley Gala. Hrishita Basu (WK), Sonam Yadav, Mannat Kashyap, Archana Devi, Parshavi Chopra. Titas Sadhu, Falak Naz, Shabnam MD, Shikha, Najla CMC, Yashashree.

West Indies – Ashmini Munisar (captain), Asabi Callendar, Jahzara Claxton, Naijanni Cumberbatch, Earnisha Fontaine, Jannillea Glasgow. Realanna Grimmond, Trishan Holder, Zaida James. Djenaba Joseph, K D Jazz Mitchell, Shalini Samaroo, Shunelle Sawh, Lena Scott, Abini St Jean

Matched Content Ad

#ICC #U19 #Womens #T20 #World #Cup #Fixtures #Teams #Venues